Page 1 of 1

MB Beta 7003 const not found

Posted: 13 Jul 2008 21:51
by MAN
Ok ME's.... Beta version 7.0.0.3 seem to be good, but I've found problem with constants declaration, the 7.0.0.3 don't create table for constant's or better don't recognizes these declared constants for P16, and more, this happen when we try to compile the source constants or declare it in the source program. If we use a file constant .mcl previous created, the problem not happen.


290:1 E-0 Linker error: __TableRes: const not found

Posted: 13 Jul 2008 23:20
by janni
Hi MAN,

If you could prepare a short code example, I'm sure it would help the mB developers to find what's wrong :) .

In version 7.3 next step has been made to make the compiler closer to it's description in the manual. Namely, the visibility of cnstants declared in modules has been limited to the given module, if the constant is declared in the implementation section (i.e. below the keyword implements). Because of that, constants' naming convention has changed in assembly (unit name is added to constant's name if defined in the implementation section - for details, see http://www.mikroe.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15739).

Please check if your troubles are not caused by this change.

Posted: 14 Jul 2008 03:44
by MAN
Hi Jany, all good?
Well, perhaps you all right. in the V 7.0.0.2 this don't happen.
Please, excuse by my mistake, I too, don't make mention to "constants array"
I've been thinking about these modifications but, is stranger in the P16 series it occurs and P18 not, if we declare the constants array at program level the compiler generates error. Some thing like this,

Code: Select all

const	Mx as byte[3] = (1,2,3)

Dim	J as word

main:
	'now we try to create a table
	J = @Mx  'In the P16 here occurs the error
           'but in the P18 no.
End.
I will check more about this. Thanks.

Posted: 14 Jul 2008 08:15
by zristic
Confirmed, for mP too.

We will fix it, thanks for the report.

Posted: 14 Jul 2008 17:46
by janni
MAN wrote:Hi Jany, all good?
Yup :D . Hope you're doing well, too. Good catch with the constant array.

Posted: 28 Mar 2009 13:57
by Kalain
zristic wrote:Confirmed, for mP too.

We will fix it, thanks for the report.
I'm also stacked with this bug in MB 7.0.0.3 beta.
Had to come back to MB 7.0.0.2.

Any idea about date of MB release ?

Posted: 30 Mar 2009 14:50
by zristic
The beta version is already out, see here: http://www.mikroe.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=91
The official release is scheduled for the next week.

Btw, the problem from above is fixed.