Rotating imbalance analyzer

General discussion on mikroPascal for dsPIC30/33 and PIC24.
Author

Rotating imbalance analyzer

#1 Post by jmarkwolf » 08 Sep 2008 15:06

I'm new to DSP and working on a simple hand-held balance instrument for analyzing mass imbalance on rotating machinery (think out-of-balance fans), utilizing accelerometers and zero-degree phase opto sensors.

There seems to be two common approaches:

1. Apply hardware filtering to (noisy) raw accel waveform, which generates a near perfect sine wave, and perform analysis on this sine wave, to resolve the required velocity and pahse angle report.

2. Apply (noisy) raw accel signal direct to the AtoD inputs on a dsPIC and (apparently) perform digital filtering and FFT to resolve the required velocity and phase angle report.

Can anyone comment on the relative complexities of either appraoch, and refer me to info on the specific precedures, or perhaps on-line tools?

LGR

#2 Post by LGR » 09 Sep 2008 14:34

The digital approach will be cheaper and more satisfactory. The FFT is a nice approach, because it not only is it easy to construct a filter, but you can take the imbalance measurement directly from the fundamental frequency. If you want to know the angle of the imbalance, you'll need two accelerometers, but the complex FFT will give you that rather directly.
If you know what you're doing, you're not learning anything.

jmarkwolf

#3 Post by jmarkwolf » 11 Sep 2008 00:24

I've used several commercial propeller balance analyzers that require only one accelerometer and an opto sensor to generate the required velocity and phase angle report.

The frequency is known and fixed in these applications (airplane propeller balancers) so I don't see the value of using an FFT, since it will indicate the frequency that is already known.

In addition, frequencies on either side of the fundamental freq are not of interest because mass imbalance refers to the fundamental frequency.