Incorrect % RAM use reported in the stat window [4.5 too]

Beta Testing discussion on mikroPascal PRO for dsPIC30/33 and PIC24.
Post Reply
Author
Message
OT
Posts: 581
Joined: 19 May 2005 05:08
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Incorrect % RAM use reported in the stat window [4.5 too]

#1 Post by OT » 08 Sep 2010 05:15

This error has still not been fixed ver 4 beta, % RAM reported in the statistics window is still incorrect.
It has been reported for quite some time. Two projects tested:
sinegen should have reported 5%, reported 1% available
O2ansx should have reported 11%, reported 0% available
Both have previously been uploaded to the support page
Last edited by OT on 08 Dec 2010 07:57, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
ranko.rankovic
Posts: 433
Joined: 11 Jun 2010 09:22

Re: Incorrect % RAM use reported in the statisitc window

#2 Post by ranko.rankovic » 08 Sep 2010 14:10

Hello OT,

All bugs that are reported and are handled are going to be fixed in our final release.

Please be patient.

Best regards
Ranko Rankovic
mikroElektronika [Support Department]

OT
Posts: 581
Joined: 19 May 2005 05:08
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Re: Incorrect % RAM use reported in the statisitc window v 4

#3 Post by OT » 01 Oct 2010 23:51

Ver 4.1:
Pascal-dsPIC-Pro-RAM-mem-report-v4_1.jpg
Pascal-dsPIC-Pro-RAM-mem-report-v4_1.jpg (17.84 KiB) Viewed 5621 times

User avatar
ranko.rankovic
Posts: 433
Joined: 11 Jun 2010 09:22

Re: Incorrect % RAM use reported in the stat window [4.1 too

#4 Post by ranko.rankovic » 05 Oct 2010 07:31

Hello OT,

I tried examples and didn't notice this behavior. Here is Screenshot:
usage.PNG
usage.PNG (125.09 KiB) Viewed 5610 times
Best regards
Ranko Rankovic
mikroElektronika [Support Department]

OT
Posts: 581
Joined: 19 May 2005 05:08
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Re: Incorrect % RAM use reported in the stat window [4.1 too

#5 Post by OT » 05 Oct 2010 19:04

Interesting, I now see why you have not spotted this bug. None of your examples uses much RAM, and thus 1% use seems reasonable. Try compiling the following for a dsPIC30F4013. 0% available RAM reported. Then change Maxdat to 100. Available RAM reported 99% . If flips between two states, either 0% or 99%.

Code: Select all

program TestRAMReport;
Const
  MaxDat=256;
var
  DatArray  : Array[1..MaxDat] of Real;
  i         : Integer;
begin
  i:=0;
  While true do begin
    Inc(i);
    DatArray[i]:=0.5*i;
    If i>=MaxDat then i:=0;
  end;
end.

User avatar
zristic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 6608
Joined: 03 Aug 2004 12:59
Contact:

Re: Incorrect % RAM use reported in the stat window [4.1 too

#6 Post by zristic » 06 Oct 2010 13:45

Thanks OT for clarifying.
We will fix it.

OT
Posts: 581
Joined: 19 May 2005 05:08
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Re: Incorrect % RAM use reported in the stat window [4.1 too

#7 Post by OT » 08 Dec 2010 07:54

I am afraid this problem has still not been fixed in ver. 4.5beta.

It is not that it matters much for me (except for the time I spend to repeatedly report the same problem), however in marketing I think it is important for you to have very polished products to convince engineers that tend to stick to "industrial standard" products that are much harder to use...

I guess the new libraries took the attention this time.

User avatar
nlukic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 66
Joined: 06 Mar 2009 10:46

Re: Incorrect % RAM use reported in the stat window [4.5 too

#8 Post by nlukic » 08 Dec 2010 10:33

Hello OT,

Bug fixed and will be included in next release.
nlukic

mikroElektronika team

Post Reply

Return to “mikroPascal PRO for dsPIC30/33 and PIC24 Beta Testing”