ERROR: Not enough RAM (YDATA)

General discussion on mikroPascal PRO for dsPIC30/33 and PIC24.
Post Reply
Author
Message
karl567
Posts: 64
Joined: 19 Apr 2012 17:25
Location: Konstanz

ERROR: Not enough RAM (YDATA)

#1 Post by karl567 » 09 Feb 2013 14:59

I am trying to adapt your ready-to-use-example "FFT-Demo" for using it with dsPIC33EP512MU810.
But mikroPascal PRO for dsPIC (Version 5.8.1) reports an error: "Not enough RAM 'InputSamples'".

Please help me.

Kind regards,
Karl

Admin: Code was not relevant for this problem, and it's removed for better topic overview.

User avatar
dejan.odabasic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 2649
Joined: 30 Apr 2012 14:20

Re: ERROR: Not enough RAM (YDATA)

#2 Post by dejan.odabasic » 11 Feb 2013 16:53

Hello,

With dsPIC EP chips buffer array of ydata must be declared in far ram.
Current implementation of our FFT library is unable to work with data located in FAR RAM.

I have reported this to our developers and they will investigate this thoroughly.

Best regards.

karl567
Posts: 64
Joined: 19 Apr 2012 17:25
Location: Konstanz

Re: ERROR: Not enough RAM (YDATA)

#3 Post by karl567 » 12 Feb 2013 14:01

Hi,

is there a chance for me to get a solution in near future? The FFT is essential in my code. I think it would be also intersting for many other. Thank you.

Best regards,
Karl

User avatar
dejan.odabasic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 2649
Joined: 30 Apr 2012 14:20

Re: ERROR: Not enough RAM (YDATA)

#4 Post by dejan.odabasic » 13 Feb 2013 21:05

Hello,

Unfortunately at this moment I don't have precise information.
I could only suggest using dsPIC30 chip instead.

Best regards.

tancioste
Posts: 16
Joined: 13 Jul 2009 13:19

Re: ERROR: Not enough RAM (YDATA)

#5 Post by tancioste » 15 Mar 2015 18:00

Hi, any new about this topic??
Fir Filtering is the core of my new code and I'm unable to declare variables in ydata space.
I'm using a dsPIC33EP512GM604 but everytime I declare a new variable in ydata space I get an OUT OF MEMORY error ....

Please help.

Regards

Stefano

User avatar
marina.petrovic
Posts: 2986
Joined: 18 Apr 2013 08:11

Re: ERROR: Not enough RAM (YDATA)

#6 Post by marina.petrovic » 16 Mar 2015 16:00

Hi,

Unfortunately, there is no some new information regarding this issue.

You have "Not enough RAM" error message because you need to use far memory qualifier:

Code: Select all

far ydata unsigned InputSamples[NUM_OF_SAMPLES * 2]; 
but also in this case you will have error message because, current implementation of our FIR library is unable to work with data located in FAR RAM.

Best regards,
Marina

Post Reply

Return to “mikroPascal PRO for dsPIC30/33 and PIC24 General”